What Are The Stages Of Child Growth And Development

A little girl that is sitting in the grass

Children experience growth and development in their lives. This article will help you understand these phases of child growth and development so that you can better help your child. The different stages and ages of child development typically consist of three distinct aspects: psychosocial (a child’s psychological and interpersonal quality), physical (the child’s development of their bodies and capabilities) and cognitive (the child’s ability to learn and remember). Of course, each child is unique, so always consult your child’s pediatrician with the most accurate information on what’s normal for them at their current stage. Your child’s pediatrician is probably the best resource for questions about child development, since they are there to help your children.


A dog sleeping on a dirt road

The first development stage your child experiences is called infancy. At this time, your baby is still developing physically and emotionally. They are not able to communicate or take care of themselves, but they are beginning to explore the world around them. Your baby may even be experiencing the beginnings of speech development, although this will dramatically improve as they get older. The emotional and physical growth of your baby experiences during the first few months of life are essential to their healthy development, and are also the reasons why you should monitor their emotional growth.

Babies at this stage experience a growth spurt in all three of their development stages: physical, intellectual, and emotional. They experience growth in every area of their brains, from their cerebral cortex (the outer layer of brain tissue) to their parietal cortex (the inner layer of brain tissue). During this time, your babies experience new sensations such as touch and sound, and begin to acquire motor skills. Emotionally, babies are experiencing growth such as happiness, fear, satisfaction, anger, and joy.

Children Continue To Grow In Physical Development

A large stone building with Erechtheion in the background

From their infancy through approximately the age of two years old, children continue to grow in physical development, but they stop growing emotionally. This is the end of the emotional development stages. During this time, children experience growth in their cognitive skills, including their ability to remember and learn things, create concepts, solve problems, and interact with others. Children continue to grow mentally, but they stop growing physically.

Normal Stage For A Child To Go Through

Growth and development through the age of two years old is considered a normal stage for a child to go through. When a child reaches this age, they are considered to have “grown up” and are ready to experience the next two years of life. During this stage, children are ready to learn about the outside world, and can physically move on their own. However, if there are any delays, then this is known as being “infantile”.

Summing Up

The three stages of child development are considered cognitive, intellectual, and emotional. Each stage builds upon what has come before it. Emotionally, children are not completely developed during the infant stage, but they are much more emotionally developed during the toddler and school age stages. Cognitively, children are extremely intelligent during the infant period, but cognitively, they are much less developed during the preschool age period.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter