What are Stages of Early Childhood Development?

A group of people sitting at a table

Early childhood development is characterized by different stages in the development of an infant. Birth through the first year of life is considered the beginning of early childhood. Throughout this period, the infant undergoes three major stages of early childhood development. These stages of childhood development are known as the infancy stage, and toddler stage. Each of these stages of early childhood development entails physical, mental, social, and cognitive development which parents may use to assess the normal progress of a newborn child.


A group of people sitting at a beach

Infancy: In early childhood development, your baby remains in the simplest state of development possible. It is said that babies as young as two years old can remember their mother’s milk and begin to feed themselves with milk. By the second year of life, your baby can begin to explore things around his environment. He might be able to identify his toys. He might be able to recognize numbers and shapes. By the third year of life, your baby should have developed cognitively and emotionally.

Emotional Development

A group of people sitting on a bed

Emotional Development: Emotionally, children experience three major stages of childhood development. First, there is the infancy stage where infants experience curiosity and fear. Second, they become less anxious as they gain experiences in their environment. Finally, they develop self-control, self-reliance, and self-reliance. At this point, children have a much wider scope of interests and can engage in more complex activities than before.

Cognitive Development

Cognitive Development: Cognitive development refers to the ability to process information. It is generally defined as the ability to perceive, understand, and learn things. During this stage of childhood, your child might be able to recognize words that she has encountered before. She might also be able to imitate simple actions such as pointing at objects or animals.

Growth and Development

Growth and Development: Growth and development occur throughout the toddler years. These are the crucial years when children are developing cognitive, emotional, verbal, physical, and motor skills. During the middle years, children experience growth and development on many levels. For example, they become more self-aware, able to evaluate their environment and become ready for intellectual challenges.

Growth and development may cause social development. During this time, children begin to learn how to cooperate with others. Children who engage in the collaborative play show signs of emotional and interpersonal maturity. Their interests and accomplishments encourage peers to follow their lead. Children who mimic the activities of others show signs of emotional and interpersonal maturity.

Early Childhood Development and Psychosocial Development

Early Childhood Development and Psychosocial Development: The developmental process through the early years of childhood can cause a child to become shy and to exhibit certain personality traits. Socialization is important during these years, and children who go through these stages learn ways to interact with others. They also learn to understand that they are the most significant person in their environment. Psychosocial development may cause a child to feel different about himself. He may feel he is unlovable, unwanted, or incapable of true love.

These stages of development are not stable and vary from child to child. Most kids go through all of them, but there are some whose experiences vary even further. When your child starts school he is in the first of these developmental stages. He will be having to face academic challenges, work to fit in, and interact with other children. The child then begins the elementary school years, during which he will have several more experiences before reaching late childhood and possibly adulthood.

How Is My Child Developing? 

Does my baby seem to be doing too much? He may be in one of the early childhood development stages. He may have problems with fine motor movements and gross motor movements. He may seem to be unable to sit up by himself, walk around, or even crawl. These are signs of needing to be intervention with your child.

The stages of early childhood development are determined genetically. So, you can’t “catch” these stages. Your baby will always begin at the bottom and work his way up. If you see any signs of these stages in your babies do not be alarmed, take them lightly, and go to a doctor.

For your young child to continue to the next stages of early childhood development, he needs a good start. If you are having problems, it is best to go to an experienced pediatrician so that he can help you find ways to solve this problem. The earlier the problem is detected the sooner treatment can take place.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter