How Does Physical Development Staging Play Out During the First Two Years of a Childs Life

stage of physical development

It seems like you can’t turn on the TV without seeing a new infomercial for some product that claims to help your child achieve “miracle” development in their “academic” or “growth” years. But do these products work? And, are there benefits from these types of development stages?

Primary Developmental Stage

A young boy sitting on a couch

Children have different developmental stages throughout their lives, and this also determines when they will exhibit certain symptoms and disabilities. Toddlers and babies are much more quickly developed than the older children, but these children still face growing pains. In order to achieve the maximum intellectual and physical potential, children go through a series of primary growth phases.

As babies and toddlers, we all know that babies are soft, cuddly, and incredibly cute. However, they are unable to talk, understand, or walk with a typical amount of mobility. Throughout the first year of development, children experience growth and development in their muscles, bones, skin, and organs.

Second Developmental Stages


As children grow, they go through their second primary development stages, referred to as childhood and adolescence. During this time, they experience: emotional growth, physical growth, and cognitive growth. Through this process, children develop the abilities to learn and adapt to their environment. Through these experiences, children begin to learn how to control their bodies, emotions, and behaviors.

Third Developmental Stages

As children progress through adolescence and primary adulthood, they experience another set of primary development milestones. During adolescence, they mature physically, mentally, and emotionally. During this time, children experience growth in their thinking and reasoning skills, self-esteem, social skills, and self-image. During adulthood, they continue to experience growth in their psychological abilities, emotional growth, and physical growth. However, the development of these areas usually slow down as they reach adulthood.

Fourth Developmental Stage

The fourth major physical development milestone occurs at adulthood. During this time, children become physically capable of engaging in sex. They may be able to achieve orgasm after orgasm without hurting themselves. In adults, women can achieve multiple orgasms in just one sexual intercourse.

Development of the four primary development stages typically proceeds in a predictable pattern beginning with childhood and continuing through adulthood. However, there are some exceptions to these patterns. For instance, it is not uncommon for some children to experience a delay in physical growth as they age, which could explain why some adolescents appear to have “normal” development while others struggle with development.

A child who has experienced all of the previous symptoms mentioned is known as having an exceptionally delayed development. These children are known as having a delayed development syndrome. An exceptionally delayed development is not the same as being developmentally disabled. A physically healthy child with an abnormal or slow development is still capable of experiencing growth and development. It is those children who experience such conditions such as abnormally slow growth or muscular weakness that are known as having a developmentally disabled child.

Final Words

There are some children who are diagnosed with developmentally disabled at birth. They do not have any ability to walk, talk, or to move their arms and legs. Other people who are born with such conditions may be born with other conditions, such as cerebral palsy or another form of brain injury. However, it is not uncommon for these children to have been born with normal physical capacities and developmental delays.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter